This morning during my quiet time this verse stuck out to me… “As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness; when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.”
– Psalm 17:15

When I read the Bible in the morning I always ask these two questions,

  • What is God trying to tell me?
  • How is this going to help me become like Christ?

I ask these questions because God is a communicating God. He wants to speak to His children and He wants them to become like His Son (Romans 8:29a).

This morning God spoke to me through Psalm 17:15…and this is what he said (not in an audible voice), “There are many people who will seek satisfaction in this life from the good things I have given them…money, the things money can buy, sex, success, food… but if you want true life, true satisfaction, true joy, than you must look to me. Don’t be fooled. I made your soul to be satisfied with me and not with all of my gifts. My gifts are given to you to draw you to Myself, the Giver of the gifts. You will never be satisfied until you come to me.”

One biblical commentator wrote, “Nothing but God can satisfy the wishes of an immortal spirit. He made it with infinite capacities and desires; and he alone, the infinite Good, can meet and gratify these desire, and fill this all-capacious mind.” – Clarke

We (I) must look to God…to Christ…to the Holy Spirit to fill our desperate hungry souls. We will be offered other alternatives…success, pleasure, lust, power, and money…but none of these things will do. We must turn to Christ for life and satisfaction.

Jesus invites us, “Jesus replied, ‘Anyone who drinks this water will soon become thirsty again. But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.’” – John 4:13, 14

There is the invitation. No we must choose. From what fountain will you drink? Where will you look for satisfaction? A relationship? Alcohol? The weekend? Money? Your next purchase?

Only God can satisfy our thirsty souls. No other will do.

